Choosing The Best Local Chiropractor Is A Cinch

Becoming a chiropractor, one has to receive a degree known as a Doctor in Chiropractic (D.C.) as well as a license to practice from the state in which they intend to work. According to the United States Bureau of Labor Statistics, chiropractic programs take a total of four years to complete. Furthermore, applicants must have completed a minimum of three years of undergraduate study before being considered for admission to D.C. schools.

Chiropractors have the option of enrolling in postgraduate programs offered by chiropractic universities to obtain diplomatic qualifications in a particular field, such as pediatrics, sports medicine, and nutrition, which allows them to achieve a specialty. When choosing a local chiropractic care facility, like Greater Life Chiropractic in Charlotte, ask them what, if any, specialties their chiropractic staff engages in.

The following is a list of the many chiropractic specializations that are available

Chiropractor Acupuncture

Acupuncture is a fundamental component of Chinese medicine and consists of the insertion of very fine needles into certain points on the body in order to alleviate pain, improve overall health, and even help with the management of stress.

Western practitioners believe that this rehabilitation enhances the body’s natural pain relievers and stimulates nerve endings, muscles, and connective tissue, whereas traditional Chinese practitioners believed that they could use this ancient method to unlock power passage throughout the body using it. This belief is held by Western practitioners. As a consequence of this, people who seek acupuncture treatment might range in age, have different medical histories, and come from a number of different backgrounds.

Acupuncturists and chiropractors who specialize in acupuncture administer the therapy by inserting needles into particular points on the body. In the course of the procedure, they may move the needles around, and in most cases, they will remove the needles after 10 to 20 minutes have passed, however some practitioners may keep the needles in for a longer period of time.

Chiropractors can get certified in homeopathy by pursuing diplomate status with the American Board of Chiropractic Acupuncture, despite the fact that the prerequisites for doing so differ from state to state (DABCA). This necessitates achieving a passing score on both the written and oral components of the DABCA examination, which is administered on a yearly basis.

In addition, the prerequisites for clinical education and ongoing training are variable depending on the state. Keep in mind that chiropractic acupuncture is not legal in all jurisdictions; thus, before obtaining your certification, you should always verify with the state regulatory board.

Forensic Chiropractor

There are times when chiropractors do not practice in clinical environments. In point of fact, there is a whole field of study devoted to the practice of medical data to legal procedures and concerns, and this field is called forensics. A practitioner in the field of forensics could work on cases related to any one of following categories:

  • The determination of disability
  • Rating procedures for impairments
  • Exams by unbiased medical professionals (IMEs)
  • DOT examinations, also known as going back to work or fitness to duty evaluations
  • Inquiries into fraud and misuse of power
  • Problems with compliance
  • Post-payment difficulties
  • Ethics and regulatory compliance
  • Activities involving informed consent or maybe expert witnesses

Some of these fields demand direct interaction with patients, such as determining whether or not such a patient is well enough to come back to work or active duty military service. Other fields, on the other hand, require working inside the legal system to give medical expertise and expert information.

Those who are interested in certification have the option of going via the American Board of Forensic Professionals (DABFP), which involves the completion of a written and oral test in addition to 300 hours of clinical practice in forensic-related fields.


Internal Medicine and Chiropractic for Families

The American Chiropractic Association – Council on Diagnosis and Internal Medicine (ACA-CDID) is in charge of certifying chiropractors who have an interest in internal medicine ( that emphasizes the use of natural treatments and care, as well as providing them with opportunities for further education. Chiropractors who have attained the diplomate status in diagnostic and internal diseases (DABCI) are able to treat patients who come from a wide variety of walks of life and may employ some or all of the following treatment modalities:

  • Clinical nutrition
  • Dietetics
  • Exercise
  • Vitamin and mineral supplements
  • Homeopathy as a kind of treatment
  • Botanical medicine
  • Acupuncture
  • Replacement of hormones by natural means
  • Pharmacologic consulting

Only the subspecialty of internal medicine is recognized by all states as valid for chiropractic practice. Those who are interested in obtaining a DABCI are required to demonstrate that they have completed at least 300 supervised clinical practice in family medicine, pass both a written and an oral examination, and undertake at least 12 hours of instruction each year.

Neurological Chiropractor

Chiropractors who specialize in chiropractic neurology investigate how the sensory and neuromuscular systems of the body interact with the nervous system. Click here for more on neurology. They rely on the patient’s body and the environment around them to diagnose changes in the central nervous system and figure out how to improve the patient’s quality of life. Patients who are experiencing symptoms such as vertigo, brain trauma, or even those who are recuperating from a concussion may fall into this category.

Neuromusculoskeletal Medicine Chiropractors

Chiropractors who focus their practice on neuromusculoskeletal medicine, sometimes referred to as chiropractic orthopedists, diagnose and treat a variety of ailments and diseases that affect the body’s musculoskeletal and nervous systems. They pay particular attention to a patient’s spine as well as their hands and feet, and they treat patients who are experiencing either chronic or acute pain.

The International Academy of Neuromusculoskeletal Medicine (DIANM) is the organization that grants certification to neuromusculoskeletal specialists. In order to get this certification, candidates must complete 300 hours of clinical practice and pass a two-part online examination. Because the requirements range from state to state, those who are interested in obtaining this certification should check with the licensing board in their state before beginning the certification process.

Nutritional Chiropractor

A nutritional issue was identified as the cause of nearly half of the instances that were treated by chiropractors. This can involve a wide range of problems, some of which include iron deficiency, obesity, and malnutrition. In order to better manage or enhance their patients’ health, chiropractors who specialize in nutrition may offer advice to their patients on changes in food, wellness and nutrition counseling, physical activity, or the avoidance of certain risks (such as alcohol).